My Soul

Must I go so far as to expose my soul?

Hold it up before your eyes and say, the truth will make you whole?

This tattered remant, welcome mat, oh wipe your feet, I’m used to that.

Come on in and have a look, see the film and read the book.

The ancient Greeks and others spoke, of the soul, I jest, I joke.

They said that’s where love comes from, of beauty, love itself and song.

My soul is mine and yours is yours as long as life and love endures.

My aim is to make things clear, my soul tells me that’s why I’m here.

I am made of dust and dirt and joy and pain and love and hurt.

In fact I am the same as you, how may I reveal the true?

Imperfect world, imperfect me, may perfection ever be?

Is that a question or a prayer, I am here and you are there.

Someone cared, someone is me, you are someone, let it be.

So my soul speaks unto you,

I must do what I must do.

Tich Ennis

18th May, 2017

Leave a Reply

