Truth

At junior school we were told we are vehicles for the truth. I thought, how can I tell the truth when I don’t know it? Maybe I will some day when I am older. I thought the truth was something said in words, as in tell the truth.   My mother said words mean nothing if not put into action.

In the beginning was the word and word was with God and the word was God. Important words to a writer. The meaning of which I do not grasp fully. God is truth.   Put God first. T.S. Eliot said the truth is what is most hated.   Remember the crucifixion. Pilate asked, what is truth? A liar’s question. A child knows truth, right and wrong in simple words say it all. Christ spoke simply. A child could understand his words.

Orwell said the reason politicians speak the way they do is because they are trying to conceal the fact that they are saying nothing. G. K. Chesterton said when people don’t believe in God they don’t believe in nothing, they believe in anything.

Whether God is an entity, a person, is not my subject here. I use the term God as synonomous with truth. A person’s God is whatever they put first, themself, money, truth, whatever. To name one or two false Gods.   The truth is not self-serving but serves all and serves you right, to lapse colloquial.   It is everywhere denied, but not quite everywhere and in not quite everyone.

Not being God I don’t know everything. I know the truth is all.

What else were we told at school?   God loves saints and sinners, it is the people in between who are neither one nor the other he hates, he will spew them out of his mouth in vomit. Colourful language. Why love saints and sinners? They lived their life, their God given life to the full, no half-heartedness there. Life is for living.   And loving.

These thoughts are mine and others given to me. Do I believe in God, the entity, the being?   I don’t know, I’m not sure. Brendan Behan said he was a daylight atheist. God, it appears to me, is not provable scientifically, so far, but is known through the feelings. Feelings are more important than intellect. What price love? Love is a feeling. We live in a loveless, unfeeling world. To a very large extent.   The world cries out for love. Hate, greed and selfishness are the enemy of the good, the true.   The battle of good against evil is never ending.   That is the truth.

A person should concern themself with being true irrespective of how others behave. To make a true world start with yourself.   I speak to myself and others. Hopefully I listen. A person’s true self is their true self. A self evident truth. All else is false.  Be yourself. Lose yourself to find yourself. In work, in play, in life, in love.   Give yourself to what you do. Dedication is the word. Then you are true.   No half heartedness. Then you, your work and your life are true. All the way or nothing.

That’s all.

Tich Ennis

19th February, 2017

P.S. I know this is strange, coming from me, a joker, a singer. So what? A clown can be true. So can you. Please do.

d

2 thoughts on “Truth

Leave a Reply

