Your Arms

In your restful arms I lie, why must I ever die?

Will I ever make it in Las Vegas, strut the stage?

What about this page?

Should I be Gary Glitter or be bitter?

What is the attraction of fool’s gold, will I learn the truth before I’m old?

I am old now and I don’t know.

Did you say I told you so?

I take up arms and lay them down.

I am the eternal clown.

I settle down.

I leave the rest to you.

You know what to do.

I only know your arms have charms.

Why must I be, to sing your song?

Here I belong.

I sing your song.

 Tich Ennis

2nd November, 2016

Leave a Reply

