Bank Letter

13th October, 2016

 Bank of Ireland

Dear Corporation,

Why do you allow people to debit my credit card when it has gone over limit? You make your own rules and break them. Am I allowed the same privilege you grant yourself?

May I not pay any charges you have allowed in breach of your own rules? Are rules for little people? How about obeying your own rules? Why not?

On Friday last I asked a pin-striped manager at your Arklow branch to inform me whether an email I received ostensibly from your organisation asking for my details was or was not a scam. I gave him the email and my phone number. He said he would contact me with an answer that day. He did not. Today I went in again and asked again. With the same result, nothing, no answer.

An Irishman, possibly you, said we’re Irish, we don’t do rules. I am also Irish. May I follow your rules even if you don’t? And refuse to pay any charges on my over-limit credit card? Would you like that? How do you like rules?   Not when they apply to you, apparently.

I note you charge an overlimit fee. How dare you?

The seventh circle of Hell, the lowest, is reserved for bankers. I understand why.   I don’t wish to live in Hell. I am careful about the company I keep, but beggars can’t be choosers.

I await your response but please don’t feed me waffle. Are you politicians?   It seems so.

Thank you very much for paying my bills. This is an unexpected pleasure.   I was unaware you are a charitable organisation.

Please keep it up. If I had a mortgage would you pay it?

If I labour under a misapprehension please enlighten me.

Lighten our darkness,

David Ennis,

Reality,

Etecetera.

Tich Ennis

13th October, 2016

Leave a Reply

