Some Say

Some say there is no such thing as perfection.

Are they in need of correction?

Also, there are no absolutes.

Much less eternal truths.

Do people say what suits?

Maybe it doesn’t suit them to believe.

To what do they aspire, what do they achieve?

Of course, we often hear there is no God.

It’s all a cod.

Is that going too far?

Is there no guiding star?

Look where we are.

Note, I have not nailed my colours to the mast.

I do not like to go too far, too fast.

Can this last?

Is our future better than our past?

That’s all for the present.

May we have sense.

In whatever tense.

We live in an eternal now, someone said.

Is he alive or dead?

We all die.

Why?

Who choose to believe a big lie?

Do they cause people to cry?

Perhaps I’ll understand before I die.

Until then, goodbye.

Some say more than their prayers, a parting word.

We live in the theatre of the absurd.

Do not believe everything you heard.

What everyone knows is wrong.

I end my song.

Is this poem too long?

I seek my guiding star.

Near and far.

I frequent a bar.

Drown my sorrow for tomorrow.

The best is yet to be.

Take it from me.

Wait and see.

The past is history.

Life is a mystery.

There are those who know and those who don’t.

Those who will and those who won’t.

I am just one.

This poem ends.

Have I begun?

I do not wish to be wilfully obscure and hard to understand.

That’s life, take it in your hand.

The evidence is before your eyes.

Do not believe a pack of lies.

Someday may we wake from a nightmare into a dream.

Things are not as they seem.

Some cry, some scream.

What is my advice?

Eat ice cream.

Would it matter if I had never been?

Do you see what I mean?

The truth is vast, profound, simple and very deep.

May we wake from sleep.

Open our eyes.

Get wise.

Realise.

I live in reality, do you.

That’s the name of my house, too.

My last house had a lovely view.

Goodnight, goodbye to you.

Be true.

Tich Ennis

16th September, 2016

Leave a Reply

