Free

I saw you going by today, you did not notice me.

Why should you, you are a free spirit, more or less like me.

Oops, I have the same word twice at the end of a line.

Oh well, as Shakespeare said, this is a poor thing, mine.

I meant to end the second line with the word free.

However, though that was my plan it was not to be.

I like my poems to make sense, between you and me.

Here it comes, in my last line, the end of this rhyme.

Be as a bird, free.

Tich Ennis

18th August, 2016

One thought on “Free

Leave a Reply

